The Oslo Region European Office’s members take part in several national and international regional networks. Here you will find a short presentation of which networks our members participate in:

(For a more complete list of each member’s individual international projects, press on the “members” link)

blinking logoERRIN
The European Regions Research & Innovation Network (ERRIN) is a Brussels based network designed to help regions participate fully and effectively in the European Research Area. By improving the co-ordination and communication of Regional Representations in Brussels, ERRIN will work to create synergies that strengthen the co-operation of Regions across Europe and so strengthen the research and innovation agenda.

Starting from January 2007, sectoral and strategic Working Groups have been set up according to ERRIN Members needs. Osloregion participate in the following ERRIN working groups:
Innovation funding

logobssscBaltic Sea States Subregional Co-operation (BSSSC)
The Baltic Sea States Subregional Co-operation (BSSSC) is a political network for decentralised authorities (subregions) in the Baltic Sea Region. The BSSSC was founded in Stavanger, Norway, 1993.
Its members are regional authorities (level directly below the national level authorities) of the 10 Baltic Sea littoral states.

The municipality of Oslo and the county municipalities of Akershus, Hedmark, Oppland and Østfold participate in this network.
logoaerAssembly of European Regions (AER)
Created in 1985, the Assembly of European Regions (AER) is the political voice of the regions and the key partner for the European and international institutions on every issue of regional competence.
The AER promotes subsidiarity and regional democracy and enables the regions to form the essential link between the European Union and the citizens.
The AER has 250 members from regions of 30 countries and 12 interregional organizations.

The municipality of Oslo, and the county municipalities of Akershus, Hedmark, Oppland and Østfold participate in this network.
gologoGothenburg-Oslo cooperation (GO Cooperation)
Since 1995, the City of Oslo has had a cooperation agreement with the Swedish city of Gothenburg. This cooperation has developed into inter-regional cooperation between
all the counties and regions between Oslo and Gothenburg.

One of the main priorities has been to develop and improve infrastructure along the E6 motorway and the railway, as well as cooperating in the fields of culture, research, business, tourism and education.
logoskandiThe Scandinavian Arena
The GO Cooperation (Gothenburg-Oslo) and the Øresund Committee (Malmø-Copenhagen) work together within the Scandinavian Arena, which covers the entire area from Oslo to Copenhagen. The main focus is on infrastructure and cultural cooperation. The Scandinavian Arena was formally established in 2003

The municipality of Oslo, and the county municipalities of Akershus and Østfold participate in this network
ostlandssamarbeidEastern Norway County Network
The Eastern Norway Couunty Network is a voluntary co-operation between eight counties: Akershus, Buskerud, Hedmark, Oppland, Oslo, Telemark, Vestfold and Østfold.

The counties have two basic aims for participating in the network :
• to influence the development of the region, by making joint approaches towards decision-making bodies, especially such bodies on state or county level
• to achieve better and more efficient solutions for matters within the responsibilities of the county, by division of work and joint projects

The network carries out those tasks which the counties agree to solve in common. These tasks may be of political or administrative character.
Eurocities is the network of major European cities. Founded in 1986, the network brings together the local governments of more than 130 large cities in over 30 European countries.
The network provides a platform for its member cities to share knowledge and ideas, to exchange experiences, to analyse common problems and develop innovative solutions, through a wide range of Forums, Working Groups, Projects, activities and events.

The city of Oslo is member of the Eurocities network
logo-crpmConference of Peripheral Maritime Regions of Europe (CPMR)
The Conference of Peripheral Maritime Regions brings together more than 150 Regions.Being located along Europe’s shoreline brings both advantages and specific difficulties, so more than 150 Regions have come together to form the Conference of Peripheral Maritime Regions of Europe (CPMR). They are from 26 countries and represent more than 170 million people.

The regions that are participate in the CPMR are divided into 6 different geographical groups: the Atlantic Arc, Baltic Sea, the Balkans/Black Sea, Inter-Mediterranean, Islands and the North Sea.
nscNorth Sea Commission (NSC)
The North Sea Commission was founded in 1989 to facilitate and enhance partnerships between regions which manage the challenges and opportunities presented by the North Sea. Furthermore, to promote the North Sea Basin as a major economic entity within Europe, by encouraging joint development initiatives and political lobbying at European Union level.

The North Sea Commission has determined that its activities must be action orientated, involving co-operation programmes, research activities, funding applications, and joint policy statements which bring positive benefits to the people of the North Sea Basin.

The North Sea Commission is one of seven Commissions under the umbrella of CPMR (the Conference of Peripheral Maritime Regions), and is divided into six areas: culture and tourism, economic development, education and research, environment, fish and transport.